Joshua’s Camera Bag…

First off, my bag is a Tamrac Velocity 9x.  This bag is pretty nice, is very compact, and has a single shoulder sling.

Items in bag:

-Nikon D50

-Nikkor 70-300mm lens

-Nikkor 18-55mm lens

-Lensbaby 3G lens

-Miscellaneous Items…

Nikon D50-

This is a beginner’s digital SLR camera and I would highly recommend it.  It has a 6 megapixel sensor, which doesn’t sound like much, but you can get a lot of good things out of it.  I like that you can put any Nikkor lens on this camera, and it will accept it (I’m not totally sure about the older film ones though, I think you can).  With some of the Canon models I hear you can’t put all the lenses on them.

All the buttons are in the right places for me, although there is room for improvement.  I like the setup of the D200 or D300 much better.  The thing I like about the D50 versus other SLR’s (take some of Olympus’ for example), is that it has buttons for each of the major functions.   For example, one button will have two functions.  One is for when the LCD is activated, and the other is used to set information like White Blance, ISO, Quality, while the LCD is off.  This I find to be very useful.  There is no back-lit display on the D50, but most information can be seen in the viewfinder.

The camera has 5 focus points.  It has AF-A, AF-S, and AF-C.  I usually keep it on AF-S.  It also sports Single Area, Dynamic Area, and Closest Subject Autofocus Area Modes.  I keep this on Dynamic.  Because this camera uses SD (secure digital) cards, it has the ability to lock each photo on the memory card.  This makes sure that you never lose images you lock.

Nikkor 70-300mm F/4-5.6

This lens doesn’t have the best aperture, but you can still blur the background when focusing on a foreground subject or item.   This lens is what was glued to my camera at Yellowstone National Park this summer.  It was useful in getting really close to the animals from a safe distance.  That is what I used for the bear shots I got.  There was no need for a tripod most of the time when hand-holding, but I did noticed that not all of my photos were as sharp as they could have been if I had used a tripod.  With the conversion factor this lens is equivalent to about a 112-480, I think (assuming the conversion factor is 1.6x).  This lens was the less-expensive version, so a step down from the VR model.  It was also supplied with a lens hood, that I happened to misplace.  I got a new one free from the store we bought it at.

Nikkor18-55mm F/3.6-5.6

I am actually very happy with my camera’s kit lens.  The only time I have ever noticed chromatic abberation is in one photograph I took.  It completely ruined the photo, but that only happened once that I’m aware of.  This lens can be pretty sharp too.  It focuses way better in the night than my telephoto zoom.  The depth of field is pretty good on this lens.  You don’t get that dreamy sort of focus like you do with prime lenses though.  It blurs the background nicely wide open though.  The manual focus ring could be way better on this lens.  It is located at the very end of the lens barrel and can be quite cumbersome.

Lensbaby 3G (varied manual aperture rings)

This lens is wonderful.  I have not had many chances to work with it, but I have enjoyed it the times I did.  This lens has magnets on the inside that will hold the aperture rings in place.  you just need to drop them in and you’re ready to shoot.  Without any aperture rings inside it has a wide open aperture of about 2.0.

This is a selective focus lens, which means you can bend the lens to blur different parts of the image, while keeping one spot always in focus.  For example if you turn it right, it will add an extreme blur to the left side of your photograph.  The smaller the aperture, the smaller the blurred area.  The middle of this blurred area is always sharp though.  Again, size of sharp area varies between apertures.

The big thing with this lens is that you can lock it in place to get repeatable results.  Once locked in place, you can then adjust the  screws on the end of the lens, which moves the “sweet spot” (sharp area) around in the photograph.  This was a big concern in the professional industry, and could be useful.  I mentioned professionals, but this lens is very accessible to consumers as well with a pretty low price range for a unique lens, and compared to any other lens for that matter.  I highly recommend this lens.

Miscellaneous Items

These items include a lens cleaning cloth, extra memory card, and lots of other junk.  I will sometimes put in my battery charger if I’m going on vacation.

Well that’s all that is in my bag for now.  I hope you enjoyed this post!

~ by draconian58 on November 15, 2007.

One Response to “Joshua’s Camera Bag…”

  1. My camera bag, a old camcorder bag. A Canon Rebel XT 8.0MP with Sigma 70-300 telephoto/macro lens. A 2GB Extreme III CF card and a cleaning cloth, none, I clean before I walk.

Leave a Reply

 
